Every year for the last 5 years I make a peregrine falcon keepsake of some kind to commemorate the peregrine falcon banding ceremony that takes place at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) when there is a successful breeding pair of falcons on campus. This year’s pair have produced 3 eggs, so chances are pretty good that this ceremony will take place, probably in June. This is a huge undertaking and I can’t procrastinate or I won’t be able to pull it off. We typically have about 30 guests attend this event, but I never know for sure how many will be there. This year I am shooting for 45 keepsakes, and I’ve decided to make a zipper ornament. I did not have what I needed for this on hand so I purchased the following online from Craft Chameleon:

  1. Military Spec Stainless steel dog tags
  2. Dog Tag Shaped Clear Resin with hole
  3.  4″ Ball Chains with Connector
  4. Triangle Bail
  5. 2″ Tassels – Red
  6. Wing Charms
  7. Jump rings

While I waited for my supplies to arrive, I worked on my image for the dog tag. I knew I wanted something vertical and not overly detailed. This was a tiny dog tag, after all. I also like to incorporate the UIC logo and the year into my keepsakes and knew I would need room for them.  I was really happy when I found this picture:

I did some playing around by hand on the iPad using Procreate first. Procreate is my favorite drawing app for the iPad, BTW.  I highly recommend it!!  Here’s the direction I am going in:

I am planning cut this out of vinyl so I need to keep my design as clean and simple as possible.

Here it is created on system:

img_4378

And here is my first mock-up on paper.

img_4376

I like it overall, but I think my falcon needs to be flipped so she is not giving the UIC logo the cold shoulder.

This seems like as good a place as any to end Part 1 of this post.  In my next post I’ll share what the supplies from Craft Chameleon look like and catch you up to where things are at.

In the meantime, I leave you with a huge serving of 9 month old puppy attitude from Hazel:

FullSizeRender (2)
#mywayorthehighway

Thanks for reading!

WT

