This was a 1/2 day (i.e. fast) t-shirt project for my 15 year old niece in from out of town for the weekend. She is super creative, sweet, smart, talented, and plays the piano among other instruments. She’s in high school band and is a member of their jazz ensemble, too. After some internet image searches together with her awesome uncle, she found and chose the cool, ammonite inspired design you see above for her shirt. The base is a black t-shirt from The Gap and the iron on is Silhouette brand Heat Transfer Material in white.

This project went really well. It was easy to create the cut file using the Silhouette tracing tool (the secret for this if you don’t know it already is to turn off the High Pass Filter) and it was fairly simple to weed. I let her do that last step, BTW. She loves to craft, has much better eyesight than I do, and she very much enjoyed being involved.

The transfer process was a breeze. The image was small enough to fit under my iron (mostly), and that’s pretty important. I have found that the larger the image the harder it is to work with because the heat transfer material starts to cool as you iron and this makes hard to peel off the backing material. As a result of this problem I tend to avoid using heat transfer material. Someday I may invest in a heat press and go all Boston Shirt Yard over here (1980s Chicago Brickyard Mall, anyone?), but until then I mostly make t-shirts with fabric paint and stencils cut out on my Silhouette using Silhouette brand Stencil Material.

She loved the shirt and it looked very chic under her blazer (sorry, no pic!).

And, speaking of blazers, here’s to my little Visigoth and blog mascot, Hazel. Even the most ferocious barbarian needs to sleep sometimes, you know . . .

WT

