I’ve got to get this post in while it is still February!  The Valentine’s Day project this year was to make two quick heart necklaces for the woofers.  Valentine’s Day marks the one year anniversary of their Instagram account, @oakbark, you see, and in honor of that we needed some heart shaped bling to add to their pics for their fans.  Here’s what I’m talking about:


That’s Lenny wearing his new necklace.  The heart candy banner in this pic is actually last year’s necklaces – also made by me – tied together.  The love balloon is from The Paper Source, by the way, and it is really nice!  It was an impulse buy.  I always want these word balloons whenever see them and I finally had a good excuse to get myself one.

Let’s get down to business, this year’s quick love day project.  As usual, I procrastinated and didn’t give myself enough time to craft so I had to make something fast.  Here’s how I did it.

First I pulled out all of the shades of red and pink paper I owned and used the Silhouette to cut out my hearts.  I used big hearts in dark shades of red for Lenny, and little hearts in light shades of pink for our six month old puppy, Hazel.

I cut my ribbon to the length I needed and then glued the hearts to it.  I overcomplicated it and I cut too much paper but that just means I’ll have to find another project for all of my pretty leftovers.  Here are some pics for you:





What could have gone better:

  1. Project planning so as not to have so much cut paper leftover
  2. Asssembly.  I used the cutting mat to hold my hearts in place while I glued them to the ribbon.  This was a very bad idea.  The glue moistened the paper which in turn made it vulnerable to the adhesive on the cutting mat.  I got lucky with Hazel’s, there wasn’t a lot of damage, but I was very unlucky with Lenny’s.  The hearts on his necklace are pretty rough, unfortunately.
  3. Documenting in general.  Work on taking key pictures of work in progress.

Something to try next time:

  1. Cut guide holes into 1/2 of the hearts.  String onto ribbon.
  2. Run the other 1/2 of the hearts through the Xyron.
  3. Stick them down to cover the ribbon and hold everything in place.  Woofers move around a lot!!

It’ll be easy to apply my lessons learned to the next big crafting holiday . . . St. Patty’s Day!  Oh, and also this:


XOXO from Hazel! ❤❤❤😘

